Notice my “then” and “now” format.

For a while I will be using a “then” and “now” format. Here’s why. I moved back to my home region about 7 years ago. That is when my efforts to developing relationships with Jehovah’s Witnesses began. So in order to play catch-up, I’ll be recounting some of my experiences of “then,” followed by a more current experience (“now”). So here we go:
Then: I have known my Jehovah’s Witness friend, Mark (a pseudonym) since I was in high school. Now that I’m back in the area (in my late 40’s), I keep running into Mark in the grocery store. We often exchange pleasantries, and I mention that I still enjoy studying the Bible. He recites a couple of his standard JW statements about the Bible, and I ask if he thinks we should meet to study together sometime. “Oh, yes!” he says, and we exchange phone numbers to set it up.
Now: I research a bit online about the history of the Jehovah’s Witnesses. Started by Charles Russell, who got the eschatological part from Nelson Barbour, a student of William Miller, who started the Seventh Day Adventists. Although the two sects share the same roots, they are very different from each other today.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

