Upcoming Meeting with an Elder

Mark wants me to meet with him and one of his elders, Robert. Meeting with elders can be dicey. If they conclude that you are an opposer, they will cut off your relationship with your friend, forbidding him to meet with you. The good thing is, I have already met Robert, and another elder of Mike’s kingdom hall. In fact, I have ridden along with Mike and an elder to attend a circuit assembly together. So far I have not been cut off. I’m not sure whether that has been the Lord’s protection, or my carefulness, or both.
I plan to continue allowing them to think I am an interested student of scripture (which is actually true) rather than an opposer (which is also true, but not in the way that they think). I have to be careful how I word questions, so that it doesn’t sound like I’m attacking the Watchtower organization, or trying to lead Mark away from the JW teachings. In all of this, I don’t want to be dishonest or deceptive. I plan on presenting myself as the child mentioned in “What Does the Bible Really Teach?” (page 9) who “does not give up until you find satisfying, reliable answers.” And like the Bereans from the book of Acts who “examined the scriptures daily to see whether these things were so” (Acts 17:11). Hopefully they will see the logic that if what they have were the truth, it would stand up to scrutiny. I just pray that logic and the Lord’s protection will continue to prevail.
We might be meeting this Wednesday or Friday. Mark will be getting back to me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

