What if my efforts don’t work?

I got to thinking the other day. What if all this time and effort that I’m putting into Mark don’t result in his renouncing of the Watchtower organization and putting his trust in Jesus? I realized it’s my biggest fear in dealing with him and other JW’s. If God has brought the two of us together, I have to assume that God is at work on Mark. And if He’s at work on him, won’t that result in his coming to Jesus? Because who can resist God, right?

But what if it doesn’t happen? Well, that’s a possibility. People do reject God’s Real Arrangement of salvation by grace through faith, apart from works. So what if that happens in Mark’s case? What about all my time and effort? Was it wasted?

I must remember that God’s Word says NOT. His word will not return empty, but will accomplish what God wants. And there may be others on the outside of the relationship between me and Mark, looking in, being influenced in ways I know nothing about. And finally, God says that “He who began a good work in you will be faithful to complete it until the day of Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 1:6) Which means that God’s work will continue even after Mark and I are gone.

All I really need to be concerned about is being faithful. The results are up to God, in His time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

