When You Get No Response

I approached two Jehovah’s Witnesses stationed outside the commuter train station. I offered to share with them one of my favorite verses, I John 5:13: “These things are written to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, so that you may know that you have eternal life.” I told them that I have come to know for certain that I have eternal life. They quickly pointed out the other phrase in the verse, “to you who believe,” stating that it requires action on our part. I quickly pointed out that “faith” or “belief” is actually just the opposite of action, and according to the original language (Greek) is placing one’s trust in someone or something else, namely in this case, what Jesus has done for us. I mentioned that He is our ransom sacrifice (using terminology that is familiar to JW’s). Then there was no response from them. Just a blank look, then a change of subject. No response. No results. Seemingly no effect.
I asked the Lord whether it was worth sharing with people like that, who have no openness whatsoever. The impression I got, which I believe came from the Holy Spirit, was “share it anyway.” Share God’s Word anyway. We never know what the effect acutually is. It could be that they will remember the verse later, before they go to sleep that night. I pray and ask that God’s Spirit would not let them get away from the truth of the verse that I shared. No one can come to Jesus unless the Father draws them, and God’s Word will accomplish what He sends it to do. So share it anyway. The results have nothing to do with us. It’s all about God’s Word and His Spirit. Share it anyway.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

