How Many Sons of God?

Recently I got the bright idea to explore some of the cross-referencing in the New World Translation app among the verses having to do with being “born again” or “born of God” and “adoption.” I thought it might provide some useful talking points with my JW friends. In that process, I stumbled upon a possible Watchtower-shattering reference.  Take a look for yourself:

In the NWT app, bring up 2 Corinthians 6:18, which reads “And I will become a father to you, and you will become sons and daughters to me, says Jehovah, the Almighty.” Now click on the little plus sign (“+”) found after the word “me,” and look at the cross-reference verses that come up. One of them is Hosea 1:10, which reads:

“And the number of the people of Israel will be like the grains of sand of the sea, which cannot be measured or numbered. And in the place where it was said to them, ‘You are not my people,’ it will be said to them, ‘The sons of the living God.'”

How many “Sons of God” does Watchtower teach there are? Only 144,000, right? But this verse, which WT shows in the cross-references in their translation is the fulfillment of Hosea 1:10, shows that the Sons of God are too many to be numbered.

And as a kicker, another of the cross-references is John 1:12, which says that anyone who believes has the authority, or legal right, to be called God’s child, or legally adopted heir. Not just the 144,000 anointed ones. Anyone.

I can’t wait to show my JW friends this cross-reference from their own translation app, and ask them to explain it to me.

Just. Can’t. Wait.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

