Book Recommendation

Rarely do I recommend a book, for several reasons:

  1. If I collected all the books others recommend that I read, I would have a roomful of recommended books. I don’t want to contribute to the abundance of casual book recommendations.
  2. To qualify as a book that I would recommend, the book must be very significant in the field or genre that it falls within.
  3. The book must be significantly helpful, or at least impactful, in my life experience.
  4. I must believe that the book will be significantly helpful or impactful to others as well.

So please know that I don’t recommend books lightly.

With that being said, I have a book recommendation for you. I just recently finished reading Can I Get a Witness? by Brian Garcia. Since you’re reading this, I assume you have an interest in the Jehovah’s Witnesses, and so I’m recommending this book to you. (I’m not recommending it to everyone. Some people that I know have no interest in the subject.) I downloaded it from Amazon to read on my tablet, which was a very inexpensive alternative.

What makes the book unique is that Brian is a former Jehovah’s Witnesses, and one who strongly defended the Watchtower before disassociating himself from the organization. Rather than merely providing ammunition for winning arguments, Brian challenges the reader to use a more Christlike approach, that is, actually caring about the person. Brian relates what it was like to be a JW, and what it takes to win the person rather than the argument. What Brian describes is what I have been trying to live out as I interact with my JW friends.

The reader must overlook some grammatical flaws, which do not detract from the importance of the concepts being shared. (Hopefully Brian will have those corrected in a revision.)

Finally, I would be remiss if I did not mention another important work, which is Crisis of Conscience by Raymond Franz, a former Watchtower governing body member. Most readers here have likely heard of that book from other sources. I also highly recommend it, but some might find it to be more difficult (scholarly) reading. Can I Get a Witness provides many of the same concepts in a more popular (easier to read) format. Both books provide confirmation to me of my approach in ministry to JW’s, as well as challenging me to do it better.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

