My Frustrations and Hope

Daunting.

That’s the one-word description that I have for the feeling I get when faced with the challenge of influencing my JW friends.

I walked away from talking with my friend Mark last Friday, and felt very pleased with our discussion, but also very discouraged by the apparent vastness of the challenge. I used to picture the JW system as a wall that I was chipping away at, and that I was taking little chinks out of the wall, and I hoped that eventually there would be a large enough hole to cause part or all of the wall to collapse. Now I see the Watchtower structure as a massive, solid pyramid. A few little chinks might have an impact on a wall, but on a massive pyramid? Hardly.

I feel that some progress has been made with Mark. He now verbalizes that he feels that the Watchtower is wrong to say that Jesus is not the mediator for the “Great Crowd” believers, and that he is ready to voice that opinion to other JW’s. But that seems to be the only chink in his pyramid. He still strongly believes that he is destined for an earthly paradise rather than heaven, and that Jesus is not God, and that the Watchtower is the only organization approved by Jehovah to authoritatively interpret scripture. There’s only a pock-mark on the pyramid.

But –

There’s a verse often quoted by Jehovah’s Witnesses in their arguments against military involvement. It’s Second Corinthians 10:4: “The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds.” They have no idea about the power of which they speak. I feel like I’m chipping away at a pyramid with a spoon. But if I read and interpret this verse correctly (and I think I do), the reality is that God’s Spirit is firing on Mark’s pyramid with anti-tank artillery. And one day God may hit it with a nuclear warhead. My feeble attempts will never bring down the seemingly invincible pyramid, but God’s power can demolish that stronghold. I just hope I get to see that stronghold crumble one day, and that I’ll be there to help Mark build his faith on the true foundation of Christ.

Tink. Tink. Tink. Boom.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My Frustrations and Hope

  1. You might consider asking them, why the watchtower doesn’t agree with John 3:3. Or how do they interpret John 3:3. 😉

    • That’s a really good one, and I hope to use that sometime soon. I have shared with some of my JW friends First John 5:1, which says that “everyone who believes that Jesus is the Christ has been born from God.” The two verses would be good to pair together.

Leave a Reply

